Skip To Content


Types of Breast Cancer Surgery with Jesse Dirksen MD

Uploaded on Jan 1, 0001

Rate This:

Thank You!

Jesse Dirksen, MD, a breast health specialist at Sanford Health, talks about different types of breast cancer surgery. There are two primary types of breast cancer surgery: lumpectomy and mastectomy. A lumpectomy is sometimes called a partial mastectomy or breast conservation therapy. What that means is that only the tumor is removed the breast remains intact. It usually involves a small incision. A mastectomy removes the entire breast. There have been advancements lately where we are doing skin-sparing mastectomies which leaves as much skin as possible, particularly for women who will undergo breast reconstruction. We are also doing nipple-sparing mastectomies, where the incision is more lateral and the nipple and areola is saved.