Transitional Year Residency Program

Transitional Year Residency Program

The Transitional Year Residency Program is an integrated program at the University of North Dakota School of Medicine & Health Sciences. It is fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and is based at Sanford Health in Fargo, North Dakota.

The one-year program provides an excellent opportunity for residents to participate in a year of clinical-based training to develop fundamental skills for inpatient and ambulatory care before advancing to their specialty training.

Our program, team and hospitals are committed to providing a quality educational experience, where each resident’s involvement and capabilities help them build close relationships with patients and peers as well as faculty.

Learn more about the Transitional Year Residency Program.

Learn More

Program Requirements

Our program provides a solid base of general internal medicine training, while still offering the flexibility for residents to style their year to their individual learning needs and the needs of their future specialty.


Tailored Curriculum

The comprehensive curriculum of the Transitional Year Residency Program emphasizes hands-on medical education and the freedom to explore elective specialties.


How to Apply

The University of North Dakota’s Transitional Year Residency Program accepts eight residents annually. Applications will only be accepted through the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS) from Sept. 15 through Nov. 1 each year. All applicants should have completed and passed Step 1 of the United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) before the application deadline on Nov. 1. The University of North Dakota also requires both USMLE Step 2 (Clinical Knowledge and Clinical Skills) results uploaded into ERAS by Feb. 1 of the following year to be ranked by our program.