Skip To Content

Search the Newsroom:

(Seperate multiple keywords with a comma)

2014 Sanford PROMISE Scholars, Fellows Selected

Five students, six educators comprise this year’s group

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – Five area high school students and six regional educators have been selected by Sanford Research as PROMISE scholars and science educator fellows for 2014.

The Sanford Program for the Midwest Initiative in Science Exploration (PROMISE) connects communities with new frontiers in science and research and aims to increase community understanding of science, raise awareness of the benefits of research and emphasize the role of both in our society. The Sanford PROMISE accomplishes this mission through a wide variety of programs, providing both students and educators from across the Midwest with real-life medical research experience.

Promise_200X267The Sanford PROMISE Scholars Program offers regional high school students the chance to complete research projects in mentor laboratories at Sanford Research during the summer between their junior and senior years. Students receive hands-on training in biomedical techniques and ethics and develop projects that will impact research conducted in their mentor’s lab. This year’s selections are from five different high schools:

  • Abigail Miller, Dakota Valley High School
  • Emily Miller, Aberdeen Central High School
  • John Schmidt, Lake Preston High School
  • William Trevillyan, Brandon Valley High School
  • Rebecca VandeBraak, Washington High School

The Science Educator Research Fellowship supports heath research performed by middle and high school science teachers with a focus on pediatrics. During the summer, participants conduct independent community-based or biomedical research under the supervision of a Sanford scientist and receive inquiry-based instruction to support the translation of their research experience into the classroom. Educators for 2014 hail from six different schools:

  • Kay Bass, Harrisburg High School
  • Cathryn Carney, Boyden-Hull High  School
  • Darwin Daugaard, Dell Rapids High School
  • Darren DeNeui, Platte-Geddes Middle/High School
  • Jeff Peterson, West Central High School
  • Marie Gillespie, Pierre Indian Learning Center

“The hands-0n research experience each PROMISE scholar receives serves as a valuable starting point for what could be promising careers in this field,” said Elizabeth McMillan, curriculum education coordinator for Sanford PROMISE. “Educators who were selected as fellows will enjoy access to researchers who are nationally known for their work in their respective fields.”

The Sanford PROMISE Scholars Program, overseen by McMillan, is in its fourth year, while the Science Educator Research Fellowship Program is in its second year and is coordinated by Peter Vitiello, Ph.D., an associate scientist in the Children’s Health Research Center at Sanford Research.

About Sanford Research
Sanford Research is a non-profit research organization and is part of Sanford Health, an integrated health system headquartered in the Dakotas. Sanford represents the largest, rural, not-for-profit health care system in the nation with a presence in 111 communities, nine states and two countries. In 2007, a transformational gift of $400 million by Denny Sanford provided for an expansion of children’s and research initiatives, one of which was to find a cure for type 1 diabetes, and has given Sanford Research significant momentum in its goal of becoming one of the premiere research institutions in the United States and the world. Most recently, subsequent gifts of more than $200 million by Mr. Sanford have paved the way to establish Edith Sanford Breast Cancer Research and Sanford Imagenetics.

With a team of more than 200 researchers, Sanford Research comprises several research centers, including Children’s Health Research, Edith Sanford Breast Cancer, Cancer Biology, Center for Health Outcomes and Prevention, Sanford Applied Biosciences and Sanford Sports Science Institute.

Tim Gerszewski
Sanford Media Strategist – Sioux Falls Region
(605) 366-2432 /