Skip To Content

Meet the Foundation

Penny Echternach

Penny Echternach

Director of Foundation
(218) 333-5515

Kelly Martinka

Kelly Martinka

Senior Development Specialist
(218) 333-5505

Foundation Committees

The Sanford Health Foundation of Northern Minnesota is fortunate to have nearly 100 volunteers active on different committees supporting its health care mission.

Foundation Board

The Foundation Board is made up of the chairs of all the Foundation committees as well as at-large members. Their leadership is the keystone of our success.

Bob Fitzgerald.jpg

Bob Fitzgerald, Chair

Ryan & Jean Baer
Eileen Bretschneider
Chris Carter
Kevin Cease
Paul Diehl
Penny Echternach
Dave & Kelley Hengel
Pat Kelly
Nancy Luoma
Bryan Nermoe
Doug Oman
Melissa Vacek
Sylvia Wildgen

Annual Support

This committee provides opportunities for community members to become more involved with Sanford Health of Northern Minnesota. The Annual Support Committee established Partners in Health, an annual giving club to recognize donors giving between $1 and $999.

Dave & Kelley Hengel, Co-Chairs
Cory Gish
Carol Grimes
Kurt Knott
Andrew LaTourelle
Kell Lovell
Paul Muller
Lori Paris
Lanee Paulson
Tracy Pogue
Dianne Sizer

Business Relations

This committee recognizes cumulative business donations and gives businesses the opportunity to invest in our community's health care.

Melissa Vacek, Chair
Paul Diehl, Vice-Chair
Gail Dockendorf
Chad Harding
Randy Jaeger
Ashley Johnson
Joey Kaseman
Kirk Malkowski
Mike McNiel
Brandon Thompson
Ryan Welle

Community Relations

This committee connects the Foundation to community members through health-focused events and activities.

Kevin Cease, Co-Chair
Pat Kelly, Co-Chair
Kathy Burger
Jim Ghostley
Kathy Hruby
Dick & Linda Klovstad
Andrea Lewis
Mike Mohler
Barb Mountain
Barb Treat
Shannon Westhoff

Employee Foundation

The Employee Foundation Committee increases awareness of the Foundation among employees. The Cornerstone Club is the employee-giving club.

Chris Carter, Co-Chair
Nancy Luoma, Co-Chair
Toni Bratager
Tanya Clemenson
Lindsay Daniels
JaCinda Degelder
Penny Echternach
Megan Gross
Kari Knudson
Joan Knutson
Sarah Lehman
Emma Nielsen
Amy Magnuson
Kelly Martinka
Erin Petrowske
Pam Redland
Duane Sand
Kiki Schnackenberg
Jane Storlie
Jodi Walker-O’Beirne
Dani Yuretich

Major Gifts

The Major Gifts Committee recognizes donors contributing more than $10,000.

Sylvia Wildgen, Chair
Jeremy Fayette
Bob Fitzgerald
Tom Hruby
Mike Moen
Dan Olson

Planned Giving

The primary purpose of the Planned Gifts Committee is to educate the community about planned giving and to inform the community about our planned gifts program. The Planned Gifts Committee established the Legacy Society to recognize generous individuals who have made planned gifts to the Foundation.

Doug Oman, Chair
Jim Bensen
Eileen Bretschneider
Sue Dearholt
Barb Smith
Josh Wilde
Dennis Zeto

Special Gifts

The Special Gifts Committee has established the Honors Society to recognize individuals with cumulative giving of $10,000 or more. This club also offers special member benefits and activities.

Ryan & Jean Baer, Co-Chair
Emily Aitken-MaGaurn
Harriet Gordon
Kari Gregg
Jeff Hill & Amy Dubray
Ken & Kari Howe
Ilene Johanneson
Gary Johnson
Dina Lee

Office Volunteer

Vange Anderson


Jim Thompson