If you are experiencing a medical emergency please dial 911 immediately
A vegan is a person who eats only fruits, grains, nuts, seeds, vegetables, and vegetable products and consumes no animal or dairy products of any kind.
The word vegan on prepared-food labels means that the product is made entirely from vegetables and vegetable products and contains no meat, fish, eggs, milk, or dairy products.
Last Revised: December 10, 2012
Author: Healthwise Staff
Medical Review: E. Gregory Thompson, MD - Internal Medicine & Joseph O'Donnell, MD - Hematology, Oncology
To learn more visit Healthwise.org
© 1995-2013 Healthwise, Incorporated. Healthwise, Healthwise for every health decision, and the Healthwise logo are trademarks of Healthwise, Incorporated.